Blixen outside the box.

I reflected then that I might, had I been given omnipotence and a free hand, have made a fine world. I might have bethought me of the trees and rivers, of the different keys in music, of friendship, and innocence; but upon my word and honour, I should not have dared to arrange these matters of love and marriage as they are, and my world should have lost sadly thereby. What an overwhelming lesson to all artists! Be not afraid of absurdity; do not shrink from the fantastic. Within a dilemma, choose the most unheard-of, the most dangerous, solution. Be brave, be brave! Ah, Madame, we have got much to learn.

– Karen Blixen, ‘The Deluge at Nordeney’

Which is another way of saying that I’m making lots, reading lots, and entirely failing to blog. Hope you’re all well.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

